Customer Comments

The Sorrel Horse Inn & Public House
VARIOUS LTD Ipswich Suffolk IP6 0PG 01473 830327 44 4.5
Excellent
I stayed at the Sorrell Horse with family for four nights. Everything was absolutely excellent. The room was very clean and adequately facilitated (excellent value for money). But the outstanding values were the staff and the food. Planning to return soon.

Mrs. Julia Leech - 7th July, 2014
Verified Review

claire reece party
Fabulous place, lovely food and the marquee hire and bbq was spot on.kids loved the play ground.

Mr. Jamie Mcewan - 1st July, 2014
Verified Review

Welcoming
Gorgeous place, very traditional in a lovely setting. Was given a friendly welcome. Rooms are very comfortable, fabulous bathroom...everything you could need. The pub has a great atmosphere and great food, friendly people. Would definitely recommend and I hope to be back soon. Thanks!

Miss. Jo Berry - 30th June, 2014
Verified Review

Exceeded Expectations!
Always difficult to find a dog friendly establishment that meets the standards the humans desire. The Sorrel Horse Inn offered a ground floor room so easy access to take the terriers in and out and it was separate from the pub so little noise, particularly on the night of England's match against Italy. The room was clean and well appointed, the staff welcoming and friendly and the evening meal and the full English breakfast were of excellent quality and very tasty. As the pub was quite full we were offered the option of having our meals taken on trays to our room which suited us well. Three good local ales on draught too, we will be back.

Mrs. Alison Hayes - 15th June, 2014
Verified Review

Spring Break
We stayed with our dog for four nights and found the accommodation acceptable, the staff very friendly and helpful, the food very good and of good value. Our dog was allowed in our room and in the Inn which made for a very pleasant stay for us all.

Mrs. Nicola Harrison - 12th May, 2014
Verified Review

Another good visit
Our second visit, hopefully not our last. Good atmosphere in the pub in the evening, to be followed by a good breakfast in the morning.

Mrs. Joy Lynch - 5th May, 2014
Verified Review

Very Good
Very nice stay very helpfull staff at the bar for check in and service during the evening will be staying again when working in Claydon next

Mr. Philip Davies - 23rd March, 2014
Verified Review

memorable visit
Welcoming staff on arrival with good quality rooms detached from the main inn so very quiet and comfortable. Good pub food with a choice of ales. Informal environment and made taking our dog a pleasure. Would visit again if in the area. Nice breakfast and friendly staff.

Mr. Andrew Webb - 10th March, 2014
Verified Review

good
Pleasant, quiet and convenient room, nice shower,nice people, good food if a little too generous portions! Would recommend, more character and personality than a chain hotel.

Mr. Timothy Penfold - 5th March, 2014
Verified Review

Great Place to Stay
A warm welcome and good food awaits you at The Sorrel Horse. Log fires and hearty food and good Suffolk locals make this a great place to stay. We stay with our dog and she loves it as much as we do. Good value for money and great Full English Breakfast

Mrs. Angela Hatherley - 23rd February, 2014
Verified Review

Sorrel Horse
I was unsure before I stayed as it is a pub/restaurant however it was a real treat and surprise from what I was expecting. The room is separate to the main pub which is great, you don't have to walk through with everything. It was warm firstly! and its the little touches that I noticed such as biscuits, homely feel, decent TV and bathroom, free wifi. The owners are lovely. The pub itself is a real 'olde' type and again the little touches such as open fire, old shire horse items and general photos on the wall again really added to the welcome feel it has. The food was huge! but really nice and you definitely get value for money! The location is excellent as well for getting onto the A14. Would I stay again? Absolutely and about to book again! I have stayed recently at the Holiday Inn and the Premier Inn and definitely rate private versus commercially owned.

Mrs. Tracy Jones - 26th January, 2014
Verified Review

Highly recommended
Found the accommodation very comfortable with a warm welcome and lovely food.

Mr. Michael Smithers - 16th January, 2014
Verified Review

Brilliant
We had a good time at the Sorrel Horse. The young lady who showed us toi our room was polite and cheerful.The staff and owners were helpful and friendly and the food was great. The locals in the pub made us feel very welcome too! Only one down side the mattress was too hard!!

Mr. Allan Rockey - 9th January, 2014
Verified Review

Excellant
We stayed here on the 28-12-2013 for 1 night whilst visiting friends in the area,the room was excellent, although the heating could have been on when we arrived. The staff where very nice and welcoming. Will stay again

Miss. Sonia Bennett - 30th December, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
Brilliant stay. Warm friendly staff, good food excellent atmosphere. Comfortable rooms. Will definitely stay again. Thank you all at Sorrel Horse

Mr. Clive Pidgeon - 17th November, 2013
Verified Review

brilliant
our stay was very good very nice meals and good clean accomodation overall 5 out of 5 staff very helpful

Mrs. Linda Newell - 12th September, 2013
Verified Review

my stay at the Sorrel Horse Inn
Clean and well prepared room, friendly reception in the Inn and lovely dinner. Breakfast was delicious and would stay again

Mrs. Angela Platten - 14th August, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely setting
Stayed for one night beautiful area and lovely building .The room was spacious and clean and felt really homely. Food was spot on. Bar was slightly small and was difficult to park directly in front of the accommodation . Playground was excellent .would defiantly stay again

Mr. Nathan Collins - 12th August, 2013
Verified Review

Wonderful stay
Have just returned from another wonderful stay at the Sorrel Horse, the full english was fantasic.

Miss. Janice Corke - 1st July, 2013
Verified Review

Sorrel Horse Inn June 2013
Stayed only one night but received a very warm welcome on arrival. The room was very clean and comfortable. The evening meal in the pub was very enjoyable and plentiful with a good choice of meals on the menu. Real Ale was good too. The breakfast was wonderfully cooked and delicious. Would recommend to anyone. Would definitely stay here again when in this part of the country. We even had some sun!

Mr. Michael Bowen - 22nd June, 2013
Verified Review

Sorrel Horse Inn
It was lovely! The room was decorated for our anniversary which was fab. We received a really warm welcome from all the staff. Breakfast was really good. Our family have stayed there before and we would definitely stay again and recommend it to all.

Ms. Alison Martin - 26th March, 2013
Verified Review

Stayed in September 2012
A very welcoming Hotel with excellent food, ambiance and very relaxing atmosphere. An excellent place too, if you have a dog! Staff and customers all very welcoming and we'll certainly recommend a stay here to our friends. We hope to stay again soon.

Mr. Roger Armson - 15th September, 2012
Verified Review

More weekend Working
The Sorrel Horse is a large family pub, with a kitchen and rooms, but at its heart it’s a pub. The kitchen provides good food at reasonable prices and so at weekends it can be very busy. The beer is good the rooms more than adequate, for the business traveller the lack of WIFI in the rooms, although it is available in the main pub building could be a bit of a disadvantage but for me I had a job to do and didn’t really need or want to be distracted by the office. If you are looking for a place to stay with a gym or a Jacuzzi and a frequent visitor reward scheme then the Sorrel Horse is not the place for you. If you want good food and good beer in pleasant surroundings with real people then the Sorrel Horse fits the bill exactly.

Mr. Robert Latimer - 12th September, 2012
Verified Review

A lovely stay
Lovely, characterful pub. Good beer and a hearty breakfast. Rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. Would certainly recommend to others and would happily stay at the Sorrel Horse again.

Mr. Andrew Preston - 4th August, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent
I live in spain, i was looking for a nice relaxing place for the weekend after my visit to London-Found it!!!! The food was excellent, facilities first class and the staff very helpful-will definately be back Brian Adams MBE Alicante Spain

Mr. Brian Adams - 29th July, 2012
Verified Review

More Weekend Working
As a business traveller the Sorrel Horse is where I choose to stay, above other hotels in the area. In my view it represents very good value for money and very thing you need. This Sunday the weather was much better resulting is the pub being very busy with families having food. This lead to a longer than usual wait for food but shows how popular the place is, always a good sign.

Mr. Rob Latimer - 24th July, 2012
Verified Review

Charming, good price, would stay again!
For context: I came to Suffolk for a wedding and only stayed one night. We arrived at the Inn very late after the wedding, and left after breakfast, so I didn't spend much time here, but I found it quite charming and very comfortable given the price. The full English breakfast was fantastic. Good black pudding, sausages and bacon, fresh tomatoes and mushrooms, plenty of everything and good conversation from the locals. I had also been told that lunch was worth staying for, but unfortunately my group had to get back to London for the afternoon, so couldn't stay. But if I have a chance to visit again I know where I'll be coming back to!

Ms. Brooke Simmons - 26th June, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend Working
I have stayed at the Sorrel Horse several time when working in the area, on this occasion I was working all weekend so I needed breakfast before it is normally available, a word with the landlady the night before and a cooked breakfast an hour before normal time and so I was in work when I needed to be. The food is always of the highest standard and the rooms have everything you need, and are clean and comfortable.

Mr. Rob Latimer - 19th June, 2012
Verified Review

Great find.
It was a one night stay as I was on business in the area. Stayed in room 4 which had been recently refurbished to a very high 4* standard. The pub was very welcoming, and the food was excellent. Highly recommended, and would happily stay there again.

Mr. Neill Kelliher - 23rd May, 2012
Verified Review

Nice place to stay
The staff were very friendly. The room was clean and attractive. The food was lovely. Excellent stay!

Mrs. Brenda Beardsley - 23rd February, 2012
Verified Review

Friendly and full of character
The Sorrel Horse was recommended to me by a colleague and I am very pleased that he did. Its a great, friendly inn with a good traditional pub menu, huge portion sizes and a choice of ales. Accommodation is in a separate building (an old converted barn I think!)right next door. Parking is plentiful and if you have children ther is an on site play area. I'd say it's an ideal place to go with a partner colleague or friends to use the inn and retire to sleep but if you are looking for a room for 1 with a big multichannel TV and room service this is not the place for you. The building you stay in is old so don't expect the sound insulation you get in some hotels, you will hear if the person next door snores or the person upstairs gets up in the night so if you are a light sleeper ask for an upstairs room. The place has a lovely family feel and its very welcoming - a proper old Suffolk Inn. I'll definately be back.

Mrs. Jools Granville - 7th February, 2012
Verified Review

Sojourn in Suffolk
The Sorrel Horse Inn is a place that is full of original character. The food was excellent and served in ample proportions, especially the full English breakfast. The accommodation was good value for the money. The staff were cheerful and helpful at all times. All in all an excellent place to stay for exploring the delights of Suffolk.

Mr. Derek Orton - 21st November, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent !!!!!!
The food was excellent and the atmosphere was great. A real local country pub feel. The room was very good and had everything I could want. I will be staying at the Sorrel Hourse again when I'm next in that part of the country.

Mr. Mike Raine - 12th October, 2011
Verified Review

Good value
Stayed here for two nights, though because I was attending an event in Needham, I didn't actually use the pub at all! Room clean and adequate, good value. Had breakfast at the bar watching the World Cup Rugby! The staff I met were unfailingly helpful and the breakfast lovely.

Mr. Gerry Morrison - 3rd October, 2011
Verified Review

The Sorrel Horse
Stayed with the Sorrel Horse for 2 nights. Came across it by accident with all others hotels I'd tried being full. Accommodation is basic but clean. The major plus is the pub. Staff were very friendly, food was good and reasonably priced. I will definitely use them again.

Mr. Darren Wardman - 22nd September, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent value for money
A good overnight stop over if walking the Gipping Valley River Path.

Mr. Ivan Block - 14th September, 2011
Verified Review

Stay September 2011
Warm Friendly Staff, room clean and adequate for our requirements. Good choice of breakfast although Orange Juice was more like a Britivc 57! Food excellent in the Restaurant but would recommend if staying on a Saturday for a meal book a table!

Mr. Peter Wall - 12th September, 2011
Verified Review

booking
I booked two rooms for my family; a large family room and a room for elderly relatives. Both rooms were lovely and the staff were really welcoming and helkpful. We will definately use it again

Ms. Alison Martin - 30th August, 2011
Verified Review

booking 2
I tried to put 5 stars on my rating but it went wrong!

Ms. Alison Martin - 30th August, 2011
Verified Review

Almost a home from home
First time I have stayed at the Sorrel Horse, although I have eaten there several times over many years. The food is always very good and the Inn side is friendly and a pleasant place to be. While I was there the weather was good so I was able to enjoy the garden. The room was not very big but big enough, comfortable, clean with just about everything you needed. The only thing I must remember next time is a hair dryer. It is certainly a hotel I will stay at again when I am working in the area.

Mr. Rob Latimer - 5th August, 2011
Verified Review

Great value
The rooms were clean and spacious. The hosts were very friendly. The breakfast was great.

Ms. Alison Honeywell - 1st August, 2011
Verified Review

Wonderful stay
Only had a one night stay, but will be returning, nice room, great full English breakfast, other meals in the pub were very good also, lovely menu, wonderful value for money

Miss. Janice Corke - 11th July, 2011
Verified Review

Good country pub
Our experience of staying at the Sorrel Horse was just as we had hoped. For the price it is good value. The room was a nice size and the breakfast was great - a typical full English. Although everything can be heard from the adjoining rooms this would not put us off from staying again. If you plan to eat at the pub in the evening, We'd advise to book a table, as it can get very busy. Again its good hearty pub grub and was great value for money. Ignore our star rating at the bottom as the site wouldn't allow us to change it after hovering over the stars to see what they represented.

Mr. Roy Banning - 19th June, 2011
Verified Review

3rd Night Stay
Stayed at the Sorrel on day 3 (of 5) after another hard days cycling (completing 350 miles for charity)hosts were very welcoming and food was much better than anticipated (especially breakfast)

Mr. Wayne Kinton - 6th June, 2011
Verified Review